## Members of the **ACUPCC Steering Committee**

Wim Wiewel, Chair President, Portland State University

Paul W. Ferguson, Vice-Chair President, University of Maine

Bryan Albrecht President, Gateway Technical College

John M. Anderson President, Millersville University of Pennsylvania

Esther Barazzone President, Chatham University

Michael L. Burke President, Milwaukee Area Technical College

> Michael M. Crow President, Arizona State University

Debra A. Derr President, Mt. Hood Community College

William W. Destler President, Rochester Institute of Technology

John M. Dunn President, Western Michigan University

Paul J. Fonteyn President, Green Mountain College

Jonathan C. Gibralter President, Frostburg State University

Jean Goodnow President, Delta College

Nancy Grav

President, Hollins University

Dianne Harrison President, California State University, Northridge

Mark Huddleston President, University of New Hampshire

Jacqueline R. Johnson Chancellor, University of Minnesota, Morris

Elizabeth Kiss President, Agnes Scott College

Steven Knapp President, George Washington University

Gloria Cordes Larson President, Bentley University

Jonathan Lash President, Hampshire College

Linda Luian

President, Chandler Gilbert Community College

Michael A. Miller President, Northland College

Scott D. Miller President, Bethany College

John W. Mills President, Paul Smith's College of Arts and Sciences

Juan Olivarez

President, Aquinas College

Gifford Pinchot III President, Bainbridge Graduate Institute

John J. Sbrega President, Bristol Community College

Kay Schallenkamp President, Black Hills State University

Jake B. Schrum President, Emory & Henry College

William Shutkin President, Presidio School of Management

Mariko Silver President, Bennington Callege

Greg P. Smith President, Central Community College

Timothy P. White Chancellor, California State University

Harry L. Williams President, Delaware State University

Paul Zingg President, California State University, Chico

## **Supporting Organization**

## Second Nature

18 Tremont St, Suite 930 | Boston, MA 02108 www.secondnature.org www.presidentsclimatecommitment.org acupcc@secondnature.org



May 22, 2014

President Barack Obama The White House 1600 Pennsylvania Ave. Washington, DC 20050

Dear President Obama,

We are signatories of the American College & Universities Presidents' Climate Commitment (ACUPCC), a high-visibility and voluntary effort led by presidents and chancellors to address sustainability and climate issues. The ACUPCC provides a framework and support for America's colleges and universities to implement comprehensive plans in pursuit of climate neutrality.

Since its launch in 2007, more than 680 institutions have signed on to the ACUPCC, representing nearly 6.5 million students in all 50 states, D.C., and every type of public and private institutions. To date, institutions of the ACUPCC have reduced cumulative CO2 emissions by more than 25% since 2007. Additionally, ACUPCC signatories have set reduction targets that will eliminate gross GHG emissions by an estimated 7.6 million metric tons of CO2 in the next 15 years.

As leaders of the nation's colleges and universities, we understand that institutions of higher education have a moral and social responsibility to rise to the challenge of global climate disruption, which threatens the very viability of our society. We are writing to support your efforts to ensure a livable future for future generations through regulations on carbon emissions from power plants.

Carbon pollution and other greenhouse gases fuel climate change that raises global temperatures and drives extreme weather. Extreme weather events including floods, droughts and hurricanes cause serious harm and cost billions of dollars in disaster recovery every year. Climate change is also an issue of intergenerational justice, and presents a unique challenge for institutions of higher education.

Addressing the climate crisis through reducing carbon pollution from power plants fits squarely into the educational, research, and public service missions of Higher Education. We commend your efforts and encourage you to do even more to address this growing threat. Limiting industrial carbon pollution is a critical step towards protecting our institutions of learning from the worst impacts of climate change.

Mr. President, you have the authority to address the climate crisis through carbon emissions regulations and we strongly support your leadership on this issue.

Sincerely,

Dr. Wim Wiewel

Win Wiewel

President, Portland State University Chair, ACUPCC Steering Committee