Second Nature Announces 2014 Climate Leadership Award Winners

May 27, 2014
Contact: Anne Waple, 617-722-0036 ext. 204,

Six Institutions Receive 2014 Second Nature Climate Leadership Awards
Recipients are recognized for innovation and leadership in campus sustainability efforts
BOSTON, MA--Second Nature, a national nonprofit that works to create a healthy, just, and sustainable society by transforming higher education, today announced that 6 academic institutions have been selected to receive its fifth annual Climate Leadership Awards.

The awards are presented annually to signatory institutions of the American College & University Presidents' Climate Commitment (ACUPCC) that demonstrate innovative and advanced leadership in education for sustainability and climate mitigation and adaptation.

"The commitment, enthusiasm, and leadership of this year's Climate Leadership Awards winners are undoubtedly leading the way for higher education to address the urgency of climate crisis. These institutions' innovative approaches and exemplary actions in the pursuit of sustainability, both on campus and in the community, are tremendously exciting, and further strengthen the progress made by the ACUPCC network," said David Hales, President of Second Nature.

This year marks the most competitive pool of nominations to date, with more than 50 institutions applied for the awards. The winners were among the 20 finalists chosen by Second Nature's board and represent the diversity of higher education institutions across the US.

Signatories of the ACUPCC, which is staffed by Second Nature, pledge to eliminate their campuses' net greenhouse gas emissions and make sustainability a part of the educational experience of all of their students. The network is made up of more than 680 colleges and universities, representing nearly 6.6 million students-approximately one-third of all college and university students in the U.S. To date, ACUPCC institutions had already achieved a 25% reduction in greenhouse gas emissions since the initiative began in 2007. Collectively, about 171,835 students at ACUPCC institutions are covered by sustainability learning outcomes, and nearly 200 institutions have a program to encourage student climate and/or sustainability research. More details about the network's progress can be found here.

Here are the 2014 Climate Leadership Award Winners:

Doctorate Granting Institutions
Western Michigan University (MI)
University of Massachusetts, Amherst (MA)

Master's Granting Institutions
California State University, Chico (CA)

Baccalaureate Colleges
University of Minnesota, Morris (MN)

Associate's Colleges
Valencia College (FL)
Montgomery County Community College (PA)

About Second Nature:
Second Nature works to create a healthy, just, and sustainable society beginning with the transformation of higher education. Second Nature is the support organization of the American College & University Presidents' Climate Commitment (ACUPCC) and the Alliance for Resilient Campuses (ARC). Learn more at:

About the American College & University Presidents' Climate Commitment (ACUPCC):
The ACUPCC is a high-visibility effort to address global warming by garnering institutional commitments from college and universities to accelerate the education, research and community engagement to equip society to re-stabilize the earth's climate, and eliminate net greenhouse gas emissions from their own operations. Learn more at:  
Publication Date: 
Tuesday, June 3, 2014